Looking for a vegan and tasty dessert? The recipe for vegan halva contains no white sugar at all, so it is a great option for you. However, it’s still sweet because of the maple syrup.
Enjoy a healthy, vegan, and nutty dessert. There are only two ingredients needed for this Middle Eastern dessert: maple syrup and tahini. Halva can also be flavored with a variety of other ingredients. To make Vegan Halva, pistachio, vanilla, peanut butter, and pecan cinnamon are the perfect ingredients.
You can serve this naturally sweetened halva with drinks like tea in the afternoon to enjoy with your family. Children are probably going to become big fans of halva, especially ones containing Nutella. This Vegan Halva will win the hearts of everyone. Make sure you follow the directions exactly.
Grease a small baking dish or muffin pan.
Heat the maple syrup in a medium-sized pan over medium heat until it reaches 130°C. This level will cause the syrup to bubble and you can see some foam in it.
While the maple syrup is heating, place the tahini, pistachios, and vanilla extract in another pan. These ingredients should only be cooked at low temperatures. Tahini should be warm, not hot.
When the syrup reaches the desired temperature, turn off the heat. Pour the tahini into the pan. Stir with a spoon until the mixture begins to become thick and the color becomes darker. Don’t stir too much because halva would become very thick. If you are using an electric beater try to use it for about 10 seconds.
Pour halva quickly into a dish and try to flatten it into a single layer. Allow your halva to cool down at room temperature for 3 hours before removing it from the pan.
Halva can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 3 weeks.
You can serve it with coffee and tea.
In the non-vegan version of this halva you can use honey.
If you can’t find maple syrup, use 2/3 sugarcane plus 2 tablespoons of water. Bring the ingredients to 120 °C. After that stir in the warm tahini.
You can make Nutella with this halva. Just mix 1/4 cup tahini, 1/4 cup hazelnut butter, 1 teaspoon cocoa powder, and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract.
Chocolate in vegan halva? Yes, you can have vegan friendly chocolates! After you mix tahini with the maple syrup, stir in the melted chocolate. Make sure you don’t stir too much.
Roasted peanuts and cinnamon pecans are two common and popular ingredients that vegans use for making halva. Don’t forget to use them if you want an extra flavor!